Streets of Laredo
by Larry McMurtry

The 4th of 4 novels in the Lonesome Dove set. The second best of the four. They were written 3, 4, 1, 2. Their order of goodness is 3, 4, 2, 1. There are big gaps in quality between all four novels. This one is very good because all the characters are depicted vividly, and because the good characters are enjoyable to observe. It is melancholy because now they are all old and losing their vigor, especially Woodrow Call.

Year Read: 2006

Back to Libertarian Essays by Roy Halliday
Back to Nonfiction Book Notes
Back to Fiction Book Notes
Back to Book Notes by Author

This page was last updated on October 13, 2011.
This site is maintained by Roy Halliday. If you have any comments or suggestions, please send them to